Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Latest News

Under 17 and Under 18 Talent Recognition List

Tuesday, 10 July 2018 | Lara Tamsett




Athletics Australia is today pleased to announce the names of the athletes who have made the Under 17 and Under 18 talent recognition list for 2018. The two groups, brimming with talent, are part of our next generation of athletes with the potential to represent Australia in future senior athletics teams. 

The athletes are now on the development pathway for talented teenagers in the sport, managed by Athletics Australia’s Junior High Performance team. We also recognise and thank the hard working coaches who teach and guide this talented group of athletes.

To kick start this exciting new initiative we are fortunate to have a tremendous group of 107 talented athletes emerging from the junior ranks. Athletics Australia’s National Junior Coaching Co-ordinator, Paul Pearce was delighted with this new group of athletes and has high hopes they will continue to develop.

“These young athletes have shown solid potential over the 2017/18 season in their events. It’s a credit to them and their Personal Coaches. We look forward to each of them taking steps to refine, develop and enhance themselves as well rounded athletes.”

“We hope we’ll see these athletes progress onto a Senior National team one day – they are 2024 Paris Potential if they keep putting in the hard work.”

Whilst some athletes have shown their talent early such as Keely Small -Commonwealth Games 800m representative, Perth hurdler Sophie White, who in March equalled Sally Pearson’s national under-18 100m hurdles record, Sasha Zhoya with his extraordinary PBs in the sprints, hurdles and pole vault and World U20 Championships bound Talosaga Kia (discus) there are over 100 other athletes who can develop into our next stars of the future. With event groups having different development timelines, we can see so much to be excited about.

It is great to see current Commonwealth Games team members, Matt Denny and Kim Mulhall, assisting the next generation, each coaching an athlete on the squad.

For more information about the program


Athlete Coach #1 Coach #2
First Name Last Name First Name Last Name First Name Last Name
Aiden Saluni-Kettle Peter Benifer
Alanna Peart Wayne Peart
Aliyah Canepa Fernando Canepa
Alysha Pearson Breanne Clement Karyne Di Marco
Amy Brice Bec Brice
Anastasia Williams Glenn Williams
Angus Beer Dani Andres
Angus Clark Danielle Clark Andrew Murphy
Annie McGuire Bailey Pashley
Anthony Vlatko Ken Green
Bailey Reimers Nenad Peisker
Bella Stewart Matt Horsnell
Ben Voogd Gus Puopolo
Brendon Neich Breanne Clement Karyne Di Marco
Caitlin Hannigan Robyn Wales
Caitlyn Ferrier Marilyn Pearson
Catherine Porter Lyn Foreman
Chantelle Chippindall Alison Chippindall
Charlotte McGill Lyn Jacenko
Colby Eddowes Mike Barber
Connor Murphy Andrew Murphy
Cooper Thomson Mel Mustapic
Declan Carman Terry Carman
Desi Johnson Antony Drinkwater-Newman
Dylan James Nenad Peisker
Dylan James Nenad Peisker
Eddie Debenham Miriam Doyle
Edward Nketia Gus Nketia
Elizabeth Moss Eric Brown
Ella Wooldridge Guy Creber
Ella Randazzo Jacinta Doyle
Elliott Housden Desmond Davis
Emilaya Ellis Sharon Ward
Emma Blanch Jock Campbell Ray/Nichole Russell/Challinor
Ethan Princena-White Zsuszanna Olgyay-Szabo
Felila Kia Michael Moore
Felix Long
Godfrey Okerenyang
Godwin Opoku-Mensah Dan Suchy
Harry Sharp Neville Down
Imogen Gardiner Deb Walsham
Isabella Simonelli Steve Cain
Isabella Reeves Ryan Purcell
Jack McGinniskin Frank Overton
Jack Downey Kym Simons
Jaco Jansen van Rensburg Suzi Graves
Jamie Hiscock Ben Norton
Jaylah Hancock-Cameron Andae Kalemusic
Jemma Peart Wayne Peart
Jesse Iese Keneti Iese
Jessica Mackenzie Steve Cain
Jonathon Titmarsh Michael Hamlyn-Harris
Joshua Jones No Coach
Joshua Cowley Stacey Taurima
Jotham Kuku Kylie Smith Stuart McCauley
Julia Direen Evan Peacock
Kaitlyn Wilson Bruce Cornish
Keegan Bell Mike Hurst
Keely Small Philo Saunders
Kurtis Smith Annette Rice
Lachlan MacNeill Paul Burgess
Leia Varley Kim Mulhall Nichole Varley
Liam Gilbert Brendan Peeters
Lily Pree Ryan Purcell
Lily Holloway James Fitzpatrick
Luke Young Jason Maxwell
Lyvante Su'emai Junior Su'emai
Madison Wells Bailey Pashley
Mark Fokas Natasha Stenberg
Mason Hughes Justin Anlezark
Melany Smart Suzi Graves
Michael Christie Nenad Peisker
Mietta Russell Lloyd Knight
Mitchell Baker Mark Worrall
MJ Jansen van Rensburg Suzi Graves
Monique Quirk Renay Parkinson
Nelson McCutcheon Tony McCutcheon
Nickolai Simmons Zsuzsanna Olgyay-Szabo
Nikita Moore Lizel Moore John Davis
Oliver Courtnay Kim Mulhall Matt Courtnay
Olivia Gross Hamish Nelson Joe Gulli
Oscar Tebbutt Frank Overton
Oscar Miers Gary Bourne
Paul Haasbroek Steve Cain
Rachel Hosie Evan Peacock
Raphaela Corney James Fitzpatrick
Rebecca Henderson Simon Baker
Reece Holder Sharon Dale
Riley Hemsworth Mick Zisti
Riley Higgins Ray Boyd
Rochelle Vidler Michael Moore
Roman Anastasios Sandro Bisetto
Rose Pittman Peter Dean Nik Hagicostas
Rosie Tozer Michael Hamlyn-Harris
Sally Shokry Denis Knowles
Sam Clifford Gary Armstrong
Samantha Dale John Sharp
Sasha Zhoya Lindsay Bunn Jason Moyle
Sebastian Reyneke Steve Cain
Simon Yung Mike Barber
Sophia Cibei Michelle Douglas Ray/Danielle Russell/Clarke
Sophie White Lyn Foreman
Stefan Rajakovic Peter Rajakovic
Stephanie Welsh Peter Roodveldt
Talosaga Kia Michael Moore
Thomas Throssell Lyn Foreman
Tristan Churchward Matt Denny
Zoe Cunningham Lachlan Freestone

David Tarbotton for Athletics Australia
Image: heptathlete Jessica Mackenzie



Athletics Australia
Athletics House
Level 2, 31 Aughtie Drive
Albert Park  VIC 3206

P +61 3 8646 4550
F +61 3 8646 4560