Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Latest News

National Athlete Support Structure announced

Tuesday, 26 September 2017 | Athletics Australia



Sixty-three able-bodied and thirty-eight para-athletes have today been extended the offer of National Athlete Support Structure (NASS) membership by Athletics Australia.

Capturing London 2017 IAAF World Champion Sally Pearson (Qld) and silver medallist Dani Stevens (Qld) as well as eight 2017 World Para Athletics World champions including 2016 Paralympic Champions Scott Reardon (ACT) and James Turner (NSW), the NASS is a high performance system that provides support to individual athletes who have the highest potential to contribute to the goals of the Australian Institute of Sport’s (AIS) Winning Edge.

This year, 119 able-bodied athletes and 54 para-athletes were considered for NASS membership, with new 10 athletes added to the program and a further 12 athletes elevated to a higher level of membership.

“The new generation of talent that we have seen come through in the past 18 months are well represented in the athletes supported as we look ahead to the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games and Tokyo Olympics in 2020,” Darren Gocher, Athletics Australia CEO, said.

“It is hoped that their commendable performances in recent times will continue to develop, ensuring continued success for Australian athletics on the world stage.”

Athletes supported by the NASS are assigned an Athletics Australia Performance Advisor, providing a clear line of communication between the national body, them and their personal coach and support network.

Our partners in the state institute and sports academy network will provide assistance in developing sound daily training environments and other high performance support services.

Athletes will also be provided with tiered benefits aligned to their membership level. Further details on what is included within the NASS Selection Policy is available here.


National Athlete Support Structure

Podium: Dane Bird-Smith (Qld), Angela Ballard (NSW), Torita Blake (Qld), Aaron Chatman (Qld), Erin Cleaver (NSW), Jaryd Clifford (Vic), Brayden Davidson (SA), Madison de Rozario (WA), Sarah Edmiston (WA), Guy Henly (NSW), Todd Hodgetts (Vic), Isis Holt (Vic), Claire Keefer (Qld), Deon Kenzie (Tas), Rheed McCracken (NSW), Evan O’Hanlon (ACT), Sally Pearson (Qld), Chad Perris (ACT), Scott Reardon (ACT), Michael Roeger (ACT), Jayden Sawyer (ACT), Dani Stevens (NSW), Jared Tallent (Vic), James Turner (NSW)

Podium Ready: Brianna Coop (Qld), Henry Frayne (Qld), Madeline Hills (NSW), Nicholas Hum (Vic), Kurtis Marschall (SA), Sam McIntosh (Vic), Kathryn Mitchell (Vic), Brydee Moore (Vic), Brooke Stratton (Vic), Jessee Wyatt (Vic)

Podium Potential: Naa Anang (Qld), Joel Baden (Vic), Brianna Beahan (WA), Damien Birkinhead (Vic), Jenny Blundell (NSW), Peter Bol (Vic), Zoe Buckman (Vic), Luke Cann (Vic), Milly Clark (NSW), Matthew Denny (Qld), Cedric Dubler (Qld), Melissa Duncan (Vic), Ryan Gregson (Vic), Georgia Griffith (Vic), Linden Hall (Vic), Isabelle Hampton (Qld), Nina Kennedy (WA), Daniel Kirk (SA), Genevieve LaCaze (Vic), Regan Lamble (Vic), Fabrice Lapierre (NSW), Luke Mathews (Vic), Morgan McDonald (NSW), Morgan Mitchell (Vic), Jemima Moore (Vic), Ella Nelson (NSW), Liz Parnov (WA),Hamish Peacock (Tas), Kelsey-Lee Roberts (ACT), Josh Robinson (Qld), Brandon Starc (NSW), Patrick Tiernan (Qld), Jessica Trengove (SA), Sarah Walsh (NSW), Lisa Weightman (Vic), Eloise Wellings (NSW), Jordan Williamsz (Vic)

Medical: Carlee Beattie (Qld), Christie Dawes (NSW), Katherine Proudfoot (ACT)

Commonwealth: Cam Crombie (ACT), Taylor Doyle (NSW), Kurt Fearnley (NSW), Jake Lappin (Vic), Michael Shelley (Qld), Beki Smith (ACT)

Development: Angus Armstrong (NSW), Declan Carruthers (SA), Josh Clarke (NSW), Joseph Deng (Vic), Matthew Felton (WA), Jack Hale (Tas), Alex Hartmann (Qld), Isaac Hockey (Vic), Alex Hulley (NSW), Shemaiah James (Qld), Tyler Jones (NSW), Robyn Lambird (WA), Stewart McSweyn (Tas), Chris Mitrevski (Vic), Matthew Ramsden (WA), Darcy Roper (Qld), Anneliese Rubie (NSW), Rachel Tallent (ACT), Jessica Thornton (NSW), Declan Tingay (WA), Kirsty Williams (Qld)


Athletics Australia
Athletics House
Level 2, 31 Aughtie Drive
Albert Park  VIC 3206

P +61 3 8646 4550
F +61 3 8646 4560