Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
emerging squad


The transitional years post-secondary school is always a difficult time for young people, especially those vying for senior benchmark teams. 

To reflect this, we have adapted our program accordingly. Commencing in 2018, Athletics Australia will have an Emerging Program which will focus on the post-secondary school athlete and their personal coaches. The aim of this program will be to bridge the gap from the World U20 Championships to World University Games and on to senior benchmark teams. This will be a pilot program which we will have the opportunity to further develop and refine in future years. This will replace the current U19 Talent Squad. 

The pilot Emerging Program will commence in late 2018 after school and university exams have concluded. This squad will be selected following the World U20 Championships. The program will be a camps-based program supported by each SIS/SAS with the first camp to be held at the AIS in December 2018 and the second event specific camp held in various states in late January, early February 2019.

In 2019 the World University Games Team will have similar support as the current World U20 Team, including greater competition opportunities in Australia and overseas.

More information on the new direction of the junior program can be found here

2018-19 Emerging squad

Tom Agnew Matt Beckenham 200m ACT
Joseph Baldwin Sandro Bisetto High Jump Vic
Jess Bell Mike Barber Javelin ACT
Zane Branco Mick Hooper 200m Qld
Grace Brennan Phil Alchin Long Jump ACT
Ella Connolly Gary Patterson 200m/400m Qld
Christian Davis Anula Costa 400m Vic
Riley Day Paul Pearce 100m/200m Qld
Jake Doran Paul Di Bella 100m Qld
Sarah Eckel Adam Didyk 1500m SA
Tyler Gunn Mick Zisti 400m NSW
Georgia Hansen Stephen Ellinghaus 1500m Vic
Aiden Harvey David Bruce Shot/Discus NSW
Katie Hayward Steve Langley Walks Qld
Caitlyn Hester Des Davis Hammer Qld
Lara Ilievski Grant Ward Javelin WA
Alexander Kolesnikoff David Bruce Shot/Discus NSW
Nash Lowis Leslye Muller Javelin Qld
Amelia Mazza-Downie Nic Bideau 3000m Vic
Cameron McEntyre Angus McEntyre Javelin NSW
Conor McLoughlin Grahame Pitt Discus Qld
Louise Mendes Demetri Dionisopoulos Hammer Vic
Ashley Moloney Eric Brown Decathlon Qld
Celeste Mucci Darren Clark Heptathlon Vic
Angus Proudfoot Phil Alchin 400mH ACT
Sarah Ringrose Karyne Di Marco Hammer NSW
Ben Schmidtchen Gary Bourne Long Jump Qld
Keely Small Philo Saunders 800m ACT
Oscar Sullivan Ben Thompson Javelin Qld
Kyle Swan Brent Vallance Walks Vic
Carley Thomas Penny Gillies 800m NSW
Andrea Thompson Phil Alchin Heptathlon ACT
Alanah Yukich Lyn Foreman 400mH WA



2018 emerging squad

This squad will meet for two camps:

Date: 15-18 December, 2018
Location: AIS, Canberra

Date: TBC (January 2019)
Location: TBC (various locations, held in event groups)

Squad photo gallery

Athletics Australia
Athletics House
Level 2, 31 Aughtie Drive
Albert Park  VIC 3206

P +61 3 8646 4550
F +61 3 8646 4560